He leadeth me …

IMG_6942

My feet felt leaden today. The steps were slow. The plan seemed fuzzy. The flurry of the weekend and its accompanying responsibilities caught up with me. If I could have curled up in a ball and ignored the world I would have. I was not allowed what I wanted. Most days are like that. The current domain of responsibilities and obligations demanded that attention be given to them.

Whispering through the busy-ness of my day came the words to an old and familiar hymn, the words of Jesus in my Song of the Morning. He Leadeth Me.

He leadeth me, O blessed thought!
O words with heav’nly comfort fraught!
Whate’er I do, where’er I be
Still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me.

Refrain:
He leadeth me, He leadeth me,
By His own hand He leadeth me;
His faithful foll’wer I would be,
For by His hand He leadeth me.

Too often I attempt to do my day without His hand. Too often I rely on my own strength to provide what I need. Too often I ignore the bounty that He provides in the myriads of blessings that are mine. Too often I refuse to acknowledge His grace. Too often I choose my own path and then wander around disillusioned and alone.

The Father is holding out His hand to me. His mighty right arm is powerful. He rescues. He saves. He delivers. He frees. He provides rest. He removes fear. He helps. He is a refuge. He is a victor. He is strength. He is a defender. He gives life. He is the cornerstone. He is worthy of all praise and glory and honour. (Psalm 118)

If I would only place my hand in His. My perspective would shift. My wobbly steps would have firm footprints to guide me. He would lead me in the paths of righteousness. His desire is to lead me. He asks me to follow. Will I let Him lead me? Everything changes when He leads me.

Sometimes ’mid scenes of deepest gloom,
Sometimes where Eden’s bowers bloom,
By waters still, o’er troubled sea,
Still ’tis His hand that leadeth me.

Lord, I would place my hand in Thine,
Nor ever murmur nor repine;
Content, whatever lot I see,
Since ’tis my God that leadeth me.

And when my task on earth is done,
When by Thy grace the vict’ry’s won,
E’en death’s cold wave I will not flee,
Since God through Jordan leadeth me.

“He Leadeth Me.” Words and Music by Joseph Gilmore and William B. Bradbury, © Public Domain.

Leave a Reply

