Delight

I sat in a flamenco show this summer and could not wipe the smile off my face.

I was part of the throng at a soccer match as part of that trip. It was a bucket list checkmark. It was a moment of delight.

I’ve been learning about the Father’s love for me and the ways He shows it. I’ve always known that God loves me. But, I’ve doubted it. I’ve believed it for others but rarely applied it to myself. Slowly, my experiences with God’s love are changing my impressions. God really does love me and He delights in me too.

Zephaniah 3:17 says that God delights in His people. The joys they experience are part of His joy. So the things that fill me with great joy are the things that bless His heart. Like any parent enjoys seeing their child’s delight, the Father relishes the delights we enjoy.

So in my day, where did the Father and I experience delight? Was it in the fun conversations with learners? The sharing of laughter with friends? The reminder that thankfulness is a choice and there’s so much to be thankful for?

To share delight with my Father, I don’t need to have the once in a lifetime experience. Rather, I keep finding Him in everyday experiences, in the ordinary. The delight is no less remarkable!

Leave a Reply

