To be indignant …

Indignant – feeling or showing anger or annoyance at what is perceived as unfair treatment

My learners and I had spent some time in Mark 1 looking at the miracles of Jesus. Mark 1:41 states that Jesus was indignant. We talked about that. How can the one who is holy and righteous be kind of ticked? And what was He ticked about? A man, a leper has asked for healing. Jesus is cross with him?

I’ve missed part of the word’s definition. The really important part. I stopped at being annoyed and angry and missed the injustice part of the definition. Unfair treatment. I’m quick to identify what I perceive to be unfair when it comes to myself. To notice when things don’t work out well for me. However, the unfairness that others experience? I’m a little slow on the uptake. Do I notice unfairness when it happens to others? Do I even pay attention? It might bug me, a bit, but do I do anything about it? Do I do what I can to make it right?

Jesus reached out. He physically touched the leper and the leprosy could not stay in the presence of the power of Jesus. He did something about the unfair life experience of the leper.

I’m not that powerful. I never will be. However, when I have the opportunity to make a difference in someone’s life, do I act? Do I step in, where the gap is really a gulf, to make a difference? Do I offer my support when it’s needed? And then do I follow up even before the request can come through? Do I notice others? And do I love with an open wide heart, a heart that feels pain and hurt in others and empathizes with them? Maybe my indignant meter is set too low!

Leave a Reply

