When Wednesday feels like it should be Friday

The week is only half done but it feels like it should be over already! To quote my third grade teacher there has been “so much to do and so little time to do it in.” Things have been checked off the list of to dos. But as soon as one gets checked off, three more eagerly jump on the list erasing whatever sense of accomplishment I had achieved. The list keeps getting longer and the respite I crave is some time away from now.

Lists of things to do never seem to listen to the weariness of my soul. They ignore the demands of the other parts of my life. Instead, when I am craving a break, they are ramping up, emphasizing the need to get it done and done now.

And then God’s word breaks into the chaos of my lists and brings much desperately needed perspective and hope.

Psalm 5: 1-3, 7-8a

Listen to my words, Lord,
    consider my lament.
Hear my cry for help,
    my King and my God,
    for to you I pray.

 In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly.

But I, by your great love,
    can come into your house;
in reverence I bow down
    toward your holy temple.

Lead me, Lord, in your righteousness

The Giver of Life knows about my lists. He knows the things that keep calling out to me and He is waiting for me to bring my needs before Him. The need to get it done, the need to rest, the need to be refreshed, the need for His peace. He is listening. He knows the desperation in my voice and the frantic-ness of the pace and He is never too busy to listen to this daughter of His. His love is larger than my list. It equips me and gives me strength to weather the onslaught and survive, even dare to thrive in the middle of it all. What a beautiful place to be, surrounded by His love, listening to His voice speaking peace and being lead by the One who knows the path better than I ever will.

Leave a Reply

