Light shines …

FullSizeRender 6.jpg“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:14-16

I came home one night and the power was off. After parking my car, I made my way inside. Down darkened hallways I walked, grateful that the security lights had come on. I knew it was dark, but arriving at my door, I was taken aback at how dark my home was. I took for granted the night light that is always on in the hallway. Now there was nothing. I fumbled for a flashlight. With that little ray of light, I felt differently about being home. The light completely changed my perspective.

Candles are so common at birthdays and during the Christmas season, but Jesus challenges us to be people of light all the time. People who shine brightly dispelling the darkness that is so common. It sometimes seems that darkness keeps snuffing out the light. And this is the tension we live in constantly. I don’t always feel like a really good light or even a light at all. Some days I know that I hide my light under all sorts of things. This is no way to live.

There is a Light and the Light removes the darkness. The darkness cannot stay where the Light is shining. All it takes is a tiny bit of the Light to change everything. When I live as a child of the Light, Jesus name is exalted and lifted high. When I live as a child of the Light, people see Him and that’s whom they are meant to know and notice!

This Advent season, I am called to live brightly. To live letting my light shine so that the Light of the World will be seen.

Here I am to Worship

Leave a Reply

