A guide for the way

Map“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. John 14:1-6

I have a collection of maps. Places I’ve been. A re-tracing of the route so I can share locations of interest with family and friends. However, if I was asked to retrace the route with a vehicle, I would be a wreck. I’m really lousy with maps. I can hold them the right way and still give the completely wrong directions. And so I’ve learned to compensate. I travel somewhere for the first time with carefully written directions. Lefts and rights instead of north, south, east or west. Along the way, I am spending all of my efforts mentally recording the key landmarks that I pass. The next time I drive to that same place, I rely on those landmarks. It’s a problem when there’s a new building that’s gone up or a familiar one that is demolished. My “let’s not get lost plan” is really rather faulty. It’s quite remarkable that I am not horrifically lost more often.

Jesus is better than a map or a map reader like me. He promises to be the way, the truth and the life. On my own, the way is often murky, full of hidden dangers that want to swamp and tangle me in their mess. I easily lose track of where I am when left to my own devices. When my eyes stay fixed on Jesus, my way is not easy but it is infinitely surer.

Jesus promise of truth is one I frequently forget. I am a frequent lie believer. One who is easily swayed by lies that have been spoken to me. I quickly believe things even though I know they are not truth. Jesus words to me are always true. He speaks peace and calm in storms. He speaks hope and comfort in times of mourning. He speaks about my identity sure and secure in Him. His words are true!

True life is found in Him. The hope for eternity is found simply by believing on Jesus and confessing that Jesus is Lord (Romans 10:9). We were designed to spend our lives in close communion with Him. Too often I wander away somehow thinking that I can do better. The reality is that on my own, life loses meaning and purpose. Following Jesus offers me a life that can be lived fully.

This Advent season I know I will need direction. It’s easy to get lost in the hustle and bustle of everything that is going on and needs doing. I pray that I will be focused on the Way, the Truth and the Life. With Him my true life is found.

Leave a Reply

