Start tiny …

mustard-seed-image

Image source

He [Jesus] replied, “… Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

Jesus has an affinity for small things. He is willing to start small, miniscule in fact, and end up with a massive change over time. In this passage He speaks about mustard seeds. A typical mustard seed is usually about one to two millimeters in diameter. I am not entirely sure how you measure one to two millimeters accurately! However, this very tiny, seemingly insignificant seed yields an impressive plant. The seed has potential. Without the proper amount of sun, and rain and the correct soil, the seed will not grow. However, should those correct conditions be provided, the seed will sprout and begin its growth towards maturity.

That’s a huge relief to me. My faith is small. Sometimes it is miniscule. It does not always believe that God is in the business of doing big things with and through me. Rather, too often, I limit God’s use of my faith. Sometimes I am afraid. “If God asks me to do ____, then what will He ask of me next?” Sometimes I simply refuse Him. “God couldn’t possibly be asking me to do _____?” Sometimes I am obedient in the moment and yet it seems that God is inactive. “I did what you asked, but why did I have to do it?” I am looking for some tangible evidence of Him in and around me and I don’t see it. Sometimes I obediently step out where He asks me to go. In those moments of obedience I am often amazed by what God does. He shows up! I don’t know why that is always a surprise to me.

God looks at my mustard seed sized faith and He knows there is potential there. He has challenged me in big and small areas to step outside of what is comfortable and certain. He has used other people in my life to spur me on. His Word continues to challenge what I know of Him and how well I know Him. The Holy Spirit continues to speak into my life teaching me and reminding me to know the Father, Son and Spirit more. There is potential here. He is attempting to tap it – to draw out the possibilities of what might happen and stretch me in ways I have not yet experienced.

And He moves mountains. I know that I am not the same person I used to be. Truth has become more prevalent in my life. I continue to listen to the Voice that gives life and hope and peace. I have a better understanding of what I am listening for. He sees the potential and continues to move me on.

This Advent season, I am grateful that God willingly uses the small. May my tiny seed of faith grow and develop as I listen to His Voice.

 

Leave a Reply

