Glory

IMG_8108

The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:14

To see God’s glory. To know God’s glory. That is to be in awe. The definition of glory has always troubled me. How do you put a definition on something that makes God so unique? How do you describe glory? It is a word that is other, seemingly undefinable, beyond what I could ever comprehend.

A definition I had not heard before was presented to me.

Glory – at least the combined magnitude of all of God’s attributes and qualities put together.

If nothing else, it is the reality that the breadth and depth of my God I shall never completely understand. And yet He longs for me to know Him and know Him intimately. There is weight, heaviness, importance, honour and majesty here. A regalness that today’s royalty does not even come close to. And yet He understands my human frailty because He has taken on the form of a human being in His Son. There is a wildness here, my God is not tame and safe. And yet He tenderly holds me close to His heart and offers His comfort and care. There is an incomprehensibility here. And yet my God hides Himself from the “wise” and reveals Himself to the “simple.” He is so much more than I will ever understand.

There is nothing left to do but worship such a King – the One worthy of all!

Praise the King

Leave a Reply

