Fixing my gaze

curling

Image source

I stepped into the hack. I knew what I hoped to accomplish. I’m an inexperienced curler so the gap between hope and execution can be the size of a canyon. The goal – remove the blue stone at the other end of the sheet. Plan B, get into the house. Running through my mind was a plan C, D, and E – all bail out strategies if what I hoped to accomplish didn’t occur. I set my sights on the target. The rock felt good coming out of my hand. Hearing and seeing it crash into the target stone at the other end of the sheet – that was fantastic.

While there were other things involved, a key to the success of that shot was where I was looking. Focused in on the target, I had a better chance of accomplishing what I hoped. As soon as my eyes moved elsewhere, the distractions took over and there was no chance.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. Hebrews 12:1-3 (emphasis added)

Fixing our eyes on Jesus. I need a set of blinders. Too often my gaze is distracted off of His face. Events of my day, emotions that roll in like the tide, to do lists and projects that demand attention are some of the biggest distractions. They are all things that need doing, but in doing them, my gaze is still meant to be drawn to His face. I sometimes feel like I’m scrambling through a maze thinking that at the end, the point of success, I will see Him.

However, I’m learning that I am meant to see Him all over the place. He isn’t waiting for me at one specific point hoping I will arrive there. Rather, He is found in all of the places where I am. He is with me – before, behind, above, below. My learners bear His image. He walks with me through the high and low points of my day.

As I learn to find Him in all of these places, I am less surprised by His presence. I have rather come to expect it. To see Him beside me, to know His presence, that is fixing my eyes on Him.

And the view, well that’s just spectacular!

Majesty of the Most High – Matt Redman

Leave a Reply

