Of tears and His love …

IMG_7222

I woke up this morning and the glance in the mirror revealed that yesterday was hard. Tears had left their evidence in the swollen eyelids that covered tired eyes. The tears had been necessary. The proof that pain exists in my life and cannot be covered with a mask or erased.

Entering the activities of the day, I wondered how on earth I would be able to accomplish what was necessary. My body was present but my mind was preoccupied. I sent the completely incorrect e-mail. I attempted to retract it, but failed. My head wasn’t in the game.

And God showed up. He does that. I wasn’t expecting it. Why don’t I expect Him to show up? He knows the seasons of my soul. He knows the state of my heart. He knows the tears I have cried recently. He understands heartbreak and sorrow – He gave His precious Son for my redemption. This Father knows grief and pain. And He shows up in the middle of mine to remind me that He is walking my present journey with me.

He also shows up in the ordinary. I was hanging up the “new” stuff for the month of March in my classroom. New decorations, numbers on the calendar. And then I stopped and I read what I had put up for display and the tears came afresh. But this time, the tears were not ones of sorrow and pain but rather of His care, His provision and His love.

Accept His Love – Your unfailing love, O Lord, is as vast as the heavens; your faithfulness reaches beyond the clouds. Psalm 36:5

Consider His Tenderness – I will give you treasures hidden in dark and secret places. Then you will know that I, the Lord God of Israel, have called you by name. Isaiah 45:3

Declare His Majesty – Lord, you are great and powerful. Glory, majesty and beauty belong to you. Everything in heaven and on earth belongs to you. I Chronicles 29:11a

Trust His Power – Because you are my helper, I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely. Psalm 63:7-8

Celebrate His Creativity – How many are your works, Lord! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures. Psalm 104:24

Remember His Compassion – I, the God of Israel … will turn the desert into pools of water, and the parched ground into springs. Isaiah 41:17b, 18b

Experience His Grace – I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Isaiah 44:22a

Behold His Brilliance – The whole earth is filled with awe at your wonders; where morning dawns, where evening fades, you call forth songs of joy. Psalm 65:8

Regardless of the circumstances I am facing, He is with me. His love will not leave me alone.

Captain

Leave a Reply

