You are the bread of life …

bread

Image source

I wondered what this day would hold. A tearful goodbye but a heavenly rejoicing. And in spite of the heavenly assurance I know, I wanted something to hold onto. Something tangible. Some personal evidence of my Jesus loving me.

And as I met some friends who have been walking this same journey I have, it all solidified into one clear thought.

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. – John 6:35

I was never meant to be satisfied with this earthly life. I was never meant to be satisfied with the things that come easily and quickly. I was meant and purposed for things that are deeper, fuller, beyond my wildest understanding. I was created to have a spiritual hunger for Christ because He is the only one who can fulfill the longings of my heart. I was meant for life.

Bread is that simple staple, the easy go to. It’s frequently turned into a peanut butter sandwich or toast. It fills an empty stomach quickly.

Jesus reminds me again that He is the bread. I am meant to find my perfect sustenance in Him. He is truly the one who can reach down into my soul, those deep places. He is the only One who can fill those places. Truly fill them – nothing trite and temporary – but permanent, satiated, fulfilled, at rest.

Whether my way is marked by grief and loss, joy and delight, the normal everyday or the stupendous surprise, He is the Bread of Life. The One providing what is needed for each moment.

Matt Maher’s Adoration

 

Leave a Reply

