When seasons sing …

Ascribe to the Lord, O might ones, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength. Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; worship the Lord in the splendour of his holiness. Psalm 29:1, 2 (NIV)

Bravo, God, bravo! Gods and all angels shout, “Encore!” In awe before the glory, in awe before God’s visible power. Stand at attention! Dress your best to honour him! Psalm 29:1, 2 (MSG)

Creation shouts the praises of the King. It doesn’t surprise me that the Psalmist used nature to announce God’s voice and presence in Psalm 29. He is inescapable as I watch what happens out my windows. His beauty is precise and never fails to amaze me.

budding-leaves-close-up

Image source

Spring always feels like a bit of a tease. It’s not always entirely sure whether it wants to be warm or if the last grasping vestiges of winter are still hanging on. Knowing which jacket to wear can be a bit of a gamble. The day you insist on the heavy winter downfill, it’s beautiful and warm. The day you’re convinced it will be beautiful, it’s chilly and you’re left wishing for that downfill that’s at home in closet. Spring constantly flirts with us with the promise of summer to come.

thumb_img_9765_1024

Summer brings its own charms. Warm days. Beautiful skies. Green grass, Flowers blooming. Holidays. Rest, time to re-create. Gardens grow and flourish. Summer’s a beautiful season.

thumb_img_0262_1024

Fall has its own unique beauty. Leaves change into a myriad of colours. We may not have vibrant reds. But oranges and yellows flashing against the deep green of the spruce and pine are breathtaking. Paths are littered with crunchy leaves and there’s no better sound than hearing feet rustling through the leaves. Fall causes us to settle in again. Routines return. Holidays are now a memory.

thumb_img_0714_1024

As the moon peered through the barren trees last month, I was reminded that winter is on its way. Winter coats, boots, gloves and toques will soon become part of the regular wardrobe. The days will be short, the nights long. Snow will stay instead of melting away. Hands will be warmed around cups of tea and coffee. The fireplace will blaze and I will be so grateful.

I am not always as appreciative of the seasons changing as I could be. In each one there is deep beauty to be found. Each one’s unique flavour points to the majesty of the King. His creativity is unmatched and each season reflects this with its complexity. My God who is powerful and mighty shows Himself in each season that I am privileged to experience. I do not want to lose sight of this beauty. Rather, I hope I pay attention to what my God is up to. He speaks through His creation and I pray that I will listen.

 

Leave a Reply

