More than a taste

thumb_img_9977_1024

I read the menu carefully. I wondered exactly what I would be getting. I wasn’t totally sure. I have a food policy when I am travelling – choose the dishes you will never be able to get when you’re at home. It’s led to some unusual meals. Most have been incredibly delicious!

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him. Psalm 34:8 (NIV)

Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see – how good God is. Blessed are you who run to him. Psalm 34:8 (MSG)

Being somewhat adventurous with food, opens doors of possibility. It’s prompted many an interesting conversation, “What’s the most unusual food you’ve eaten?”

My experiences and tales of my journey with God are meant to be that intriguing too. It’s essential to know Him. It’s a discipleship requirement to grow in knowledge and relationship with Him. But do I tell the stories of what He has done in my life?

The Bible records the story of God’s intervention in the lives of people. It’s a written record of His interactions with His creation. It demonstrates His desire for communion, His love and discipline. But it can’t stop there. It can’t stay a past tense thing that I read. It can’t be like a history book full of men in costumes and old paintings.

God is constantly working and moving in my life. He’s far from passive. He directs and leads. He sings songs over me waking me up with them most mornings. (He has an interesting taste in music!) It’s reach out and touch-able. All of these moments are of the taste and see variety. It’s an experience that is memorable, not to be missed.

It’s also not just for me. It’s not a secret. It’s not a solo only experience. It’s meant to be shared. It’s meant to be delighted in. I am meant to share my God moments. But it’s not enough to simply hear about the God moments of other people. Until I experienced it for myself, I could not relate to the stories of walking with God that were being shared with me.

It’s like a delightful meal. I can see a picture of good food on Pinterest. The photos may be stunning, the directions straightforward. But if I never make the dish, if I never taste it, I will never know if it is any good. Some pictures are downright deceiving. They show an amazing dish but the real thing looks nothing like it. That’s a let down. And if it doesn’t taste good, then that’s truly disappointing.

My God’s not like a disappointing dish. Rather, there will never be any sort of picture good enough to fully describe Him in all His majesty and glory. I will never be able to engage with Him enough. I will never be satisfied with my level of understanding of who He is, what He does and how He speaks. I’m just scratching the surface of my experience of Him. But I can’t get enough of Him. The tasting and seeing will never end. He continually beckons me in, revealing more of Himself in the process. Every little bit more of Him that I see and experience draws me further in, closer to His heart.

Taste, see, delight, experience – I can’t get enough of my God.

Good Good Father

Leave a Reply

