Nothing gets lost

fullsizerender-7

I got to work and wondered if I had them with me. I couldn’t see them hanging out of my bag. As of yet, I hadn’t needed them at all. Every threshold I had crossed so far had been open. But as I looked at my filing cabinet, I wondered if I had left my keys at home. I was prepared to “suffer the consequences” but a rummage through my bag proved I wouldn’t need to. The lanyard with my keys had been there all along.

Your love, O Lord, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your justice like the great deep. O Lord, you preserve both man and beast. How priceless is your unfailing love! Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of your wings. They feast on the abundance of your house; you give them drink from your river of delights. For with you is the fountain of life; in your light we see light. Psalm 36: 5-9 (NIV)

God’s love is meteoric, his loyalty astronomic, His purpose titanic, his verdicts oceanic. Yet in his largeness nothing gets lost; Not a man, not a mouse, slips through the cracks. How exquisite your love, O God! How eager we are to run under your wings, To eat our fill at the banquet you spread as you fill our tankards with Eden spring water. You’re a fountain of cascading light, and you open our eyes to light. Psalm 36:5-9 (MSG emphasis added)

I do not understand the size of my God. I see evidence of His majesty and vastness all around me. The sky, the starry host, the mountains, the oceans, each one points to the boundlessness of God. But then I see God’s fingertips in the minute too. The details present in a single flower, each tiny bug, the way my hair parts all on its own, the seemingly insignificant that proves that God is involved in His creation.

In His largeness, nothing gets lost

I know what I am like. The bigger or more significant the project, the more likely I am to misplace something. My head will be swimming with details and I will struggle to see the final outcome, to see the end product all wrapped up. If it’s paper I’m meant to keep track of, I better have some sort of file. If it’s ideas, I hope I’ve written them down somewhere safe, but not so safe that I will never find it again. It’s the reality that I can misplace my keys between my filing cabinet and my desk. I lose things all the time.

But my God is the one who is never overcome by the details. There is nothing so big that He cannot understand. He is omniscient, knowing everything. I am easily overwhelmed. He never is. He is steadfast. I lose my place over and over. He never wanders off. He is never lost. Therefore, even in those moments when I am overwhelmed and only my nose and eyeballs are above water, my God is the One who is holding me up. He is the One walking with me. He is the One holding me close. I may not always feel His presence so tangibly, but that does not mean that He is not there.

And so because my God cares about the details, I pray over my keys often. I may have set them down carelessly, but my God cares about all things great and small and so I choose to trust Him with my keys and my life.

Third Day’s Your Love Oh Lord

Leave a Reply

