Where do I start?

thumb_img_9774_1024

Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders you have done. The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare. Psalm 40:5 (NIV)

Nothing and no one comes close to you! I start talking about you, telling what I know and quickly run out of words. Neither numbers nor words account for you. Psalm 40:5 (MSG)

I’m always left a little stumped when someone asks me about how real Jesus is to me. I don’t know where to start. My whole life is wrapped up in one amazing Jesus story after another.

I could start at the beginning with parents who introduced me to Jesus. I could add on about teachers who fed my love for His Word and encouraged me to grow. I have stories to tell from University where the Holy Spirit clearly gave me words to share with classmates. My first job was clear provision from His hand. The list goes on and on and on and I’ve only barely scratched the surface of the events in my life that have revealed that my God is with me.

This fall, I had a milestone birthday. The celebration was a delight but there was one I loved who was absent because she is in Jesus presence. However, a year prior, she had given me a birthday card for that milestone. I didn’t have the heart to tell her I wasn’t quite that age yet. She would have been mortified thinking she had made that kind of mistake. But in March when she entered heaven and I was left to mourn her, that birthday card and the note she enclosed to me became more precious than words could say. I dug it out, and after reading it with tears rolling down my cheeks, added it to the other notes given to me. A year ago, it all felt like a bit of a strange coincidence. This fall, it was a gift from God’s hand. A way that He showed me again that He was with me even as I missed my dear friend.

My God has ways of providing that I cannot understand. He is ever present in my circumstances, more present than I know. I don’t always see where He is moving and guiding. I sometimes miss the bright light moments of His attentiveness, mercy and grace. But there are not enough words to talk to you about my God. Not enough pages in books to record the stories of how He has intervened in my life and the lives of people I love. I stand in awe of what He has done for me and I am forever amazed at the love He lavishes on me!

Bethel Worship Lion and the Lamb

Leave a Reply

