Of the sun and specifics …

Psalm 113_3

I stood on the edge of the earth. Had I gone any farther north, I would have been in the Barents Sea. Even though the sun was up, it was well past my usual bedtime. I was there to see the midnight sun and to watch it set. Turns out, when it’s summer in Norway and you are past the Arctic Circle, the sun does not set. It simply dips down and then starts to rise again. What a majestic sight to behold!

 

From the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, the name of the Lord is to be praised. The Lord is exalted over all the nations, his glory above the heavens. Who is like the Lord our God, the One who sits enthroned on high, who stoops down to look on the heavens and the earth? Psalm 113:3-6 (NIV)

From east to west, from dawn to dusk, keep lifting all your praises to God! God is higher than anything and anyone, outshining everything you can see in the skies. Who can compare with God, our God, so majestically enthroned, Surveying his magnificent heavens and earth? Psalm 113:3-6 (MSG)

 

The Maker of the heavens is a big God. He spoke the sun into being. Granting it authority to govern the day. He set the sun into place. Not too far away so as to freeze the earth. Not too close so as to burn it. Just the perfect distance. My God gets details!

I know my God understands details, but sometimes I think He is much too busy to care about the details going on with me. Someone else’s problems are more important than mine. Those needs more significant. God cares more about that situation. That one must demand more of His attention.

But if that’s true, I’ve believed a lie. The lie that my God does not care. Scripture would completely disagree with me! My God knows the specifics. Even the hairs on my head are numbered. (Matthew 10:30) He knows when I sit and when I rise. (Psalm 139:2) He has plans for me. (Jeremiah 29:11) He sings over me. (Zephaniah 3:17) He looks down on the heavens and the earth. (Psalm 113:6)

My God is not an absentee landlord. He has not abandoned what He has created. He doesn’t occasionally glance in my direction. Instead, He stoops down. He comes close. I am not beyond His reach. He isn’t waiting for me to reach up to get my way to Him, as if I could. Rather, He comes my way, folding His frame towards me. His closeness testifies to His love. His attention to me, the details about my life and circumstances, is beyond my understanding. There is no one like this God of mine. His creation testifies to His power. His love is demonstrated over and over. His provision is perfect. His attention never wavers. He is worthy of my highest praise and adoration.

Pat Barrett’s Sails

Leave a comment